Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Monday, August 13, 2007

inDieLSCine!! tara, nood tayo :)

Kaisa ang mga estudyante ng VIDPROD, 1st trimester 2007-2008, malugod kong inaanyayahan ang lahat na panoorin ang pangalawang independent film exhibition ng VIDPROD sa De La Salle-Canlubang.

Limang maiikling narrative videos ang ipapalabas ng klase sa darating na
Biyernes, Agosto 17, 2007,
sa ganap na 11:10 ng umaga (unang palabas)
at 2:30 ng hapon (huling palabas).
Ang exhibit ay itatanghal sa
DLSC Media Lab, 3/F Milagros del Rosario Bldg
De La Salle-Canlubang, Leandro V. Locsin Campus
LTI Spineroad, Binan, Laguna.

Libre. Yehey!

Text-text. Kita-kits. Hug-hug. Mwah.

Thursday, August 9, 2007

abuse of power and seniority complex

Some people forget all social decency and restraint just because other people around them tolerate all their crap. Akala nila, porket walang sumisita sa kanila ay okay lang ang ginagawa nila, orrrr....lagi silang tama. These bullies/self-righteous people, I'll call them Those Who Abuse Their Power and Are Besot with Seniority Complex (TWATP-ABSC) seldom stop to think that other people just might be too busy to bother with their petty issues and their insecurities, and most of the time just let TWATP-ABSC off the hook. When that happens, TWATP-ABSC tend to think that their actions are right.

That is...until someone finally tells them straight to their face that their actions were stupid, insensitive and totally uncalled for. Nakakatawa nga eh. kasi halatang-halata mo na hindi nila ine-expect na may haharap sa kanila para ipakita yung mali nila. sila yung mga hindi nasanay na masabihan ng mali, nang malait. yun yung ibig ko sabihin sa mga katagang KULANG SA LAIT; HINDI NAPAPALO (KSL_HN). (sorry, ms. jeng, alam kong secret code natin yun. pero kailangan ko lang po mai-express).

Nakakahiya, nakakainis. hindi na sila natutong kumilatis sa mga mabubuting nagagawa ng iba, sa mga effort at sakripisyong ginagawa ng iba parang lang may magawang project or makatulong. hindi na nila naisip na "uy, siguro may mga napuyat dito, or may mga naglabas ng pera, or may mga nagpakapal na lang ng mukha para mairaos tong event na 'to, or uy may sarili silang initiative sa paggawa nito--walang teacher na nangialam or nagtulak"

ang mga napupuna lang ng TWATP-ABSC na mga ito ay yung mga mali (wala silang nasasabi pang mabuti tungkol sa ibang tao, o sa mga taong hindi nila kabarkada, katropa, etc.). pero ang totoo nito'y nakikita nila ang mga kakayahan ng ibang tao na wala sa kanila...pero sa halip na natutuwa ay nai-insecure sila. Ang pinapangalandakan nila sa madla ay ang mga mali ng iba para magmukha sila, itong mga TWATP-ABSC na ito, na mas magaling. As in better than the rest of the world.

Wow! Panginoon! Lord ka pare!

Nakakahiya, kasi may mga TWATP-ABSC na matatanda na at nasa posisyon na kadalasang inaakala ay dapat propesyonal at mature na ang pananaw. nakakahiya kasi minsa'y tiningala mo sila. nakakainis kasi may mga TWATP-ABSC na feeling nila ang galing-galing nila, lakas manlait pero sarado ang tenga, mata at kamalayan sa mga sariling pagkakamali. ang daming excuses para ma-justify ang mga pagkakamali.

nakakatakot at nakakapraning kasi hindi mo alam baka balang araw maging ganun ka din. kaya kung kaibigan kita, magkaibigan tayo, magbantayan tayo ng ugali. gusto ko maging honest ka sa kin, sabihin mo sa akin ng may sinseridad at pagmamalasakit--huwag patalikod, huwag plastik--sabihin mo sa kin sa paraang maiintidihan ko, matatanggap ko nang bukas ang isip, at lalo na nang may pagpapahalaga sa kanya-kanyang dignidad...ano ang pagkakamali ko at pano ako mas magiging mabuting tao.

Friday, August 3, 2007

Worst Toilet in Scotland: Best in Prod Design

Nalalapit na ang screening ng mga narrative videos (films) ng mga VIDPROD students. I was surfing through !people this morning and was prompted by one entry to post an excerpt from one of my favorite flicks: Trainspotting. Naisip ko lang na-ishare na din ito. I agree with Direk Gabby, this scene's prod design is brilliant (that goes for the whole film, actually). Wala pa akong nakitang hindi nag-react sa eksena na 'to (assuming you're seeing it for the first time. And believe me, I've watch countless people wince and gag...what fun!!! hehe.

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

MALAYO SA BITUKA: An Amateur Film Making Contest

Malayo sa Bituka:‘The 1st Quisumbing-Escandor Film Festival for Health’



PDF Print E-mail


This project is entitled ‘The 1st Quisumbing-Escandor Film Festival for Health’ with the theme “Malayo sa Bituka …”. This is a NATION-WIDE documentary, experimental, and short narrative film-making contest opened to amateur film makers. It seeks to highlight the interactions between the socio-economic, cultural, environmental, and political factors with health and general well-being.

Dr. Quisumbing and Dr. Escandor are two martyrs of the University of the Philippines College of Medicine. Dr. Quisumbing continued to serve in the Philippine General Hospital during World War II, even though most of his colleagues had fled the area. Dr. Escandor served as a barrio doctor during the martial law, and was accused of being a rebel-sympathizer. Both were killed while on duty. They both exemplify the ideals of the medical profession which is to serve in the name of service. Meanwhile the theme, “Malayo sa bituka…” (“Far from the guts”) invites an appraisal of Filipinos’ attitude towards health; and an in-depth examination of the complex factors that affect this attitude. Perhaps through this festival we can make it known that our individual and national health is not far from the guts.

The film competition is open to all amateur filmmakers who are Filipino citizens. Students are particularly encouraged to join. Professional filmmakers will also be invited to present their works as ‘feature presentations’.

TOPICS

The following are the suggested priority topics that we would want the participants to explore:
1. Human Rights and Health
2. Community Medicine and Health
3. Poverty and Health
4. Women and Health
5. Children and Health
6. War and Health
7. Accessible Drugs and Health
8. Physical environment and Health
9. Illness and Health
10. Impact of Globalization on Health
11. Impact of the lack of Health Professionals

PRIZES

The grand prize of P100,000 will be awarded to the top film. For Best in Documentary, Best in Short Narrative, and Best in Experimental Film will be Php 50,000 each. Each of the awardees will also get a trophy. Other special awards are yet to be announced. There is NO joining fee.

Video Library
Participating schools and institutions are those whose students/members take part in the film festival. They will be entitled to avail of all the entries to form their own video libraries for free. They can become key resource centers where various NGO’s, schools, etc in their areas can avail of much needed materials for advocacy, education, and training purposes.

For more information, check out the following links:

Home/Registration form

Mechanics

Relevance

Organizers

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Musikaral at Lingap

Tickets are sold at the gate for a hundred pesetas...i mean pesos. hehe. Proceeds will go to DLSC's scholarship program, LINGAP.

Monday, July 23, 2007

my snowglassapple

There are at least two sides to a story; at least two stories for every moment in history. Those who havent realized this are, perhaps, either still too young or too inexperienced. They might not be to blame. But those who have had Time lead them down the most tedious terrain, through the most impossible storms, there is no denying this.

I perhaps am somewhere in between: not yet totally convinced but knowing in my gut that the world is not what it appears to be. I can demand and grow angry and throw tantrums until someone gave me answers...but it just doesn't work that way. Truth comes when you least expect it. When you almost dont care about it anymore. And that's when you'll realize...there was another story all along.





Sakto! This story rocks.

Monday, June 25, 2007

SHEPHERDS THE WEAK in Sta.Rosa, Laguna

Got word from the guys from RailRoad Records that all-Filipino HK based hc/metal group Shepherds The Weak will be performing in Sta. Rosa as part of their Philippine Tour. Event happens on Saturday, July 21, 7pm @ the Sta.Rosa Commercial Center.

The RR crew had been working their asses off for this event, it seems. now, the hour is at hand for some great hardcore music. great job, guys. good luck. see you at the pit!



Also, as i heard, the night before this event, STW will be playing @ Freedom Bar, Kamuning, and DLSC's Jet Gabatan and his band Brawler will be performing as "front act" for them.

Suportahan natin sila. Yes? AWOO!! :)

Monday, June 18, 2007

overdose pa din

i can't! i can't stop posting these things...somebody slap me. haha!

okay, last. squirrel nut zippers! i heart them, too. argh.




{{video:http://www.youtube.com/v/13Yfc479Eo8}}

jazz overdose

call it a hangover, call it jazz overdose...im still high from all that jazzzzz from the 5th manila jazz fest last friday.

puwede na ba to'ng patikim? :) ( i heart royal crown revue!)



{{video:http://www.youtube.com/v/nbxkgn64R6Y}}

also, im just curious...i'll just try this out...uhm, for my earlier posting (gig review) @ !people.

Thursday, May 24, 2007

back to the secret coffee shop

We just had to something "last-minute-y" before classes officially began. This time, we brought fresh meat..(tadah!)...Ms. H. Natuwa naman siya.











Sche and I ordered lechon paksiw (P45 each, with rice), but I had caffe latte (P35) and capuccino (P25) and sche had kapeng barako (P15-P20?) . Ms. Alona had 2 mocha lattes (P35 each) and ordered 2 large servings of french fries (i forget...perhaps around P30 for a large plate), and Ms. H had a frapuccino (P35) and egg pie (P15).

Nakapag-ukay pa kami. I got this cute, tough and unused little bag (puwede shoulder, puwede belt) for P50 only! and it's tan! (okay tama na ang raving).











On the way home we passed this nice lighted lane going to the highway. it felt like christmas there. i love it.






(o ayan...alam niyo na siguro kung saan ;)

Friday, May 18, 2007

EL Guitarista needs an "el keyboardista"

Everything has to evolve; and it looks like the guys from El Guitarista are looking around for new riffs to jam to. They're looking for someone who could play keyboards with them, preferrably someone with influence in/a liking for progressive rock, power/black metal.

Interested? Or do you a have a friend you could recommend? Get in touch with Elmar at 09174772598, 09182144080. Or just drop these guys, Basti and Jhe, a message online.

Support our amateur local bands! Thanks!

(btw, here's one of their videos)


Monday, May 14, 2007

DLSC leadership training 2006 (video)

mabuhay ang mga lider ng DLSC...ang mga future leaders ng ating bayan! :)

Sunday, May 13, 2007

dear politicians: you are only as disciplined as your people

A passage in Sophocle's Oedipus Rex translates "It takes a person 10 years to build a good reputation, but only 10 minutes to lose it." This morning, it only took a record-breaking 10 seconds for Team Fresnedi's campaign people to mar their candidates' image.

I was aboard a jeepney to Muntinlupa to cast in my vote. My plan was to hit homebase first and go to Munti Nat'l HS with my father and my sister --a protective measure against what I predict would be an unruly crowd at the voting precinct. Little did I know right then that chaos has already spilled unto the streets, weaved their way through the swelling traffic and dared invade the enclosed spaces of public transportation. Some of these rude people were not contented with handing out flyers and sample ballots; I was shocked when they brazenly threw handfulls of these trash in our faces! I instinctively grabbed a sheet and tore it in plain sight. Some of my other fellow passengers cursed back angrily, the others remained silent, harassed.
The jeepney floors were covered thick with all those wasted paper; i felt sorry for the trees and i raged against these unmindful, insensitive, stupid politicians with no foresight. They have seen how crazy elections can get; they have witnessed it so many times. Why can't they make a difference? Why can't they campaign decently? Why dont they tell their supporters and volunteers how to go about decently, appropriately, preserving the voting public's dignity and their's as well? Why don't they clean up after themselves? or better yet, they should not spread garbage at all.

This message is specifically addressed to Mayor Fresnedi and his runningmates, and to a certain candidate named Dr. Amy Patdu Labios (I've never heard of you before so you can't say I'm biased as I write this). These names and corresponding faces were shamefully splattered all over these flyers (or at least those that I saw at that time) that were shoved in our faces on our way home. Your people are undisciplined; what makes you think you'll be good leaders? You do not deserve our votes.

Saturday, May 12, 2007

lame beer review

just to follow up on the isaw review done recently on people@dlsc. heck, i dont even feel up to writing this review--totally in no mood to write. but for the sake of getting it off my chest here's a short, half-assed comparative analysis of the few alcoholic beverages i've tried in this lifetime (specifically beer). now, some people might comment and say, wow immoral! umiinom. i say: may Dionysus curse you with violence like he did Pentheus for being ignorant and hypocritical; and may humankind have pity on you for missing out on half of your life. anyway, let me get to it.

i worship san miguel pale pilsen. period. nuff said.

...okay, in fairness, there's a really short list of beer brands i've tried so far so i may not know what i'm talking about. you have to try it yourselves at least once, BUT ONLY IF you are already of legal age AND ONLY under the supervision of your parents/guardians/responsible adults. (tee-hee :).

so, let see. of course there were the foreign brands: carlsberg, corona, budweiser, heineken, etc...but they dont count because they're rarely ordered (or at least among the crowd i mingle with). and it's been such a long time since i ordered these, i dont remember what they tasted like. so it all boils down to san mig pale pilsen, san mig light, cervesa negra and red horse.

lately, i have sworn never to touch redhorse ever again. it smacks of the worst hangover anyone can possibly get. as in. somebody informed me that barley's spiked with gin. grabe. suko ako. hindi siya pwede pang mahaba-habang kwentuhan na matino.

i dont like san mig light. it's all frothy and shimmery like rainbow bright's supposed to come pirouetting out any second. plus, it can make you all burpy and farty. sabi nga nung isang commentary...what ever made SMB think their drinkers need something that light?

cervesa negra is good. but for some reason it makes me really thirsty. and after two bottles i feel weird, like im starting to grow horns and i start saying the silliest things. hindi naman pa ako tinatamaan niyan ha. basta, weird. pero masarap siya.

strong ice...the taste is not for me. too masculine...but still not as brainmelting as redhorse. Just makes me really sleepy really soon.

san miguel pale pilsen...well. what can i say. this fella is my friend. he respects me. i talk, it listens ; and when it talks it packs a wallop but hey, okay lang. para ka lang sumabak sa moshpit. okay sige siko jan, bagsak dito, you crawl out with a bleeding lip but it's all good and someone helps you up and everything's easy, you see. i and the pale take our time; absolutely no rush. i know when to stop and when i do i'm all conscious and awake and i can still brush my teeth and turn the lights off.

malabo ba? eh, basta ganun. hindi ko ma-explain. i love my san mig pale pilsen.

Tuesday, April 24, 2007

a docu on electoral fraud

actually na-cute-an talaga ako sa flyer nila. but i think this is definitely worth watching. sino interesado, tara! sabay na tayo. see u there :)

Monday, April 9, 2007

A copy is a copy is a copy.

To the anonymous person who tried to put a cowardly comment on my last blog entry... hell yeah was meant to disturb those who have very shallow views about politics in narratives and media texts. Thank you for reacting. You just proved my point about colonialism and all.

And to soothe your ailing bourgeois/capitalist sensibilities, yes i have attended some workshops, and yes i did get a compli because i contribute reviews for this flickzine that some friends in canada publish. You can sleep well now, huh? Now that you have assured yourself that the first world remains secure behind their IPR laws. Nevermind that they have raped colonized peoples and stripped them of resources from time immemorial. No amount of pirating will ever suffice for their what they have stolen. If it werent for the pirates, they wouldnt be marking down those DVD prices for those blasted Hollywood stuff. Even you wont be able to afford it.

Another thing, if people watched in via pirate does that mean they can't express views? Talk about hardcore gatekeeping, huh.

Oh, and one last thing, since you're such an essentialist, the one you bought for P750 that others get for P50 are all copies. Nothing is original in this mass-produced society. A copy is a copy is a copy.

Tuesday, April 3, 2007

300 revisited

And the Oscar for most xenophobic/racist/orientalist film of the year goes to....

...(drumroll)...















yay!

Thursday, March 29, 2007

SCIFI MOVIE MARATHON

The current batch of SciFict students invites you to the
3rd DLSC SCIFI Movie Marathon.
Five short narrative videos will be shown repeatedly between
9:00 am to 5:00 pm on
April 3, 2007 (Tuesday)
at that
empty room next to the Student Center.

Nood kayo ha. Nominate your favorites for best movie, best actor, best actress, etc. Kita-kita tayo doon! :)

BACOLOD SUMMER WORKSHOPS!!!




Calling all interested parties, individuals, artists, enthusiasts, aspirants...

The NEGROS SUMMER WORKSHOPS (better known as the Bacolod Summer Wkshps) is back and open to those who would like to develop their artistic skills over the break. For their 17th year, classes will run from April 23-May 19, 2007 at the De La Salle-Bacolod Campus.

Short Intensive Courses in the following areas will be offered:

Children’s Theatre (P2,100)
Teenage Acting (P2,100)
Basic Acting (P2,100)
Teenage Improvisation(P2,100)
Film Production for Adults(P2,600)
Teenage Film Production(P2,100)
Production Design(P2,600)
Stage Management (P2,600)
Director’s Apprenticeship(P2,600)
Make-Up for Film, Television & Theatre (P2,100)
Movement for Stage and Screen (P2,100)
Movement for Children(P2,100)

Matitindi din yung mga instructors nila dito:
* Arceo, John
* Benito, Manue
* Fajardo, Lawrence

* Fernandez, Gabby
* Gallaga, Maurice Ruiz de Luzuriaga "Peque"
* Gallaga, Jubal
* Gonzales, Gino
* Hinojales, Rene
* Martinez, Eero
* Montelibano, Manny
* Trinidad, Michelle y Gallaga
* Triño, Jack II
* Reyes, Lorenzo y Ablon "Lore"

Kaya Go NA Kayo! (if you want...hehe)

anyway visit their official site for more details, lalo na yung accomodations.

http://www.usls.edu.ph/nsw/index.html

The event will culminate with a film/video competition,
The 10th Crystal Piaya Awards. One may join even without attending the workshops. padala na lang niyo yung videos ninyo and get a chance to win the grand prize of P25,000 (and prestige, of course).


Wednesday, March 28, 2007

ennui breeds creativity (?)

bilib talaga ako sa creativity ng mga taga-DLSC. yung mga bagay na akala mo walang silbi nagagawang work of art.




let's see that again









Monday, March 26, 2007

something new from google



new google home themes...yehey. ang cute di ba? sana dumami pa.

Friday, March 23, 2007

Tuesday, March 20, 2007

kakaibang crossword puzzle

i was trying to open one of my favorite user's blog but that silly 'dans guardian denied' notice kept popping up kahit naka anonymous. arrrg. anyway. my efforts led me to this interesting page. yung mga mahilig sa crossword puzzles, eto ang sa inyo. pag eto nakumpleto nyo...kuramchi malaykovich na lang sa inyo.

http://www.tristancafe.com/crosswords/gaylingo/


ito lang natapos ko kasi madami pa akong gagawin atsaka na-pagoda cold wave lotion na aketch. good luck mga lola!


english 2 alternative class: river trek!!!



actually, one can make connections between english 2 (speechcom) and last monday's rivertrek. well, first: bjorn delivered short, intermittent speeches during the trek. second: ... uh, i dont have a second. let's just say that one of the goals of education is to develop students into well-rounded individuals. we, as teachers, are constantly encourage to have alternative classes once in a while. the whole class thought that a morning spent walking in authentic environments, i.e. nature, would do one good. i agree! (heck, first time nga nila maka-experience ng rivertrek eh)...

it's better than talking about it. share ko na lang yung mga ilan pang photos.







we all enjoyed. naalala ko yung LB days na anytime gusto mo umakyat ng bundok anjan lang yung makiling. haaay. miss ko na umakyat. ano kaya naisip ng mga student's ko? napa-haaay din kaya sila?



anyway, salamat sa mga pumayag na samahan kami...sir bjorn and yung dalawang kuya security guards. pasensya na sa mga pasaway. sana nag-enjoy din kayo. next time ulit!

:)

Saturday, March 17, 2007

the secret coffee shop

ms. a, sche and i found ourselves 'reluctantly' free one afternoon and decided to take a break from all the checking and writing and reading and obligatory meetings...hehe (my words). just to forget we were busy and stressed. after almost an hour we found the perfect setting...i have been sworn to secrecy so sorry i cant tell the exact location.


what i find fantastic about that place was the fact that it was cozy, far from the busy streets, had nice lighting and cute furniture, comfortable seating and delicious coffee--also unbelievably cheap!!! (P15 for an espresso, P35 for ice mocha latte, iced capuccino and everything else!).
of course, the best thing is that the little secret coffee shop was the perfect place to have a chit-chat. hardly anyone comes in. i dont think people knew the place exists.
i was fixating over their exquisite chandeliers that gave the place this magical kind of lighting.

haha. ang corny ko. baka may halong psychedelic substances yung kape nila. the coffee shop's name by the way is the same as the brand of coffee that they get from the droppings of civet cats. yup, they make it here in the philippines, somewhere in cavite.

since im parking memories here, mostly for myself, might as well mention that trike driver who ms. alona and i thought had beeeyoootiful eyes. of course wala akong picture, najahe ako. but i did get a snapshot of that ad he had in his tricycle. it was pretty..uh, disarming if you ask me.

Friday, March 16, 2007

naloka sa 300

hay nako. manonood na talaga ako ng 300 hundred mamayang gabi. sa last full show kami magtu-toos ng mga papa spartans (or spapartans) habang wina-wharlalu nila ang mga big-bad-persians. sista sche has gone totally gaga over the film, and we had this long drawn out analysis on the way home last night based on the question "what if 300 where to be produced again and the actors were to be people from DLSC, and we (I and sche) were to be casting directors: who would get to play who?"
it was fun. i asked her if she could join the community and start the discussion, sabi niya simulan ko daw muna at itutuloy niya. o di ba, production-level na i-tech. anyway, the categories would be SPARTANS (of course), PERSIANS, THE members of the COUNCIL, SPARTAN WOMEN (sche and i casted ourselves here already, at walang aangal. sige ka "only spartan women give birth to real men", hehe), yung mga OUTCAST (or mga reject na spartan babies na tinapos sa wilderness).
haha, sige, next time, sisimulan natin.


in the meantime, take a look at this. natawa ako--mega! sana lang mabasa nyo kasi mejo malabo. if not, click nyo na lang. hehe.






Saturday, March 10, 2007

getting over a stolen wallet/fone

my mother lost her fone/got her fone stolen last week. but, from what she told me it seemed like she wasnt devastated at all. she has this habit of writing down all of her contact's info in an addressbook. she got a new fone, a new number and went on with her life. when i lost my fone a few years back i was devastated. it was like those times i have lost wallets and filo faxes and crashed my pc. i just dont have backups.

anyway, i'd like to critic this article some time when i have time. it's pretty comprehensive a "how-to" for when you lose your wallet, and i'd like to see something for when you lose your cellphone and other essential things like that. there seems to be something missing still. something more practical, or something redemptive.

Thursday, March 8, 2007

newbie, noob, ?

hello students, former students, future-students, etc... its my turn to be taught.
pano ba maglagay ng widgets?
yun lang, hehe.

Wednesday, March 7, 2007

to jordan

dear jordan,

i just read your post. malalim ba? actually minsan nakaka-conscious magsulat ng mga ganun sa blog kasi nga ia-anticipate mo na sasabihin ng ibang tao, "wow pare nagpapakalalim ka nanaman." kaya may mga disclaimer ako eh...yung mga maarte kong "okay i'll stop before my nose bleeds." my nose wont bleed, i like the discourse.
madalas kasi iniisip ko hindi naman sa malalim, kundi sa pagiging "kakaiba" lang kaya ganun naiisip ng mga ibang nakakausap ko.
example, pagkagising mo sa umaga, ano iisipin mo? di ba kung anong oras na, o kung mabaho ba hininga mo at magmumumog ka muna o magkakape ka na lang derecho, tutal mag-aamoy kape din naman hininga mo magmumog ka man o hinde kasi nga magkakape ka pa din ano man mangyari?
What if nagising ka isang umaga nagkataon ang unang pumasok sa isip mo ay kung paano nagkaroon ng mga levels of meaning ang mga dating monolithic na sistema at konseptong nagaadhere sa "singularity" ng kahulugan. example, konsepto na zion at babylon na originally galing sa bible, ngayon ay inaapropriate na ng mga rasta at iba pang mga nasakop at nasasakop ng kultura. ang sarap isipin di ba?
hindi siya komplikado, hindi siya malalim. kung pilipino ka at alam mo ang relasyon ng inaapi/naapi at nanlulupig, madali mo itong maiintindihan. hindi ako nagpapakalalim. minsan tanungin din natin kung bakit kailangan ikahon ang pag-iisip. hindi ko din naman sinasabi na lagi natin tong gagawin, pero minsan i-analyze natin, bakit may naiinis kapag sa umaga bigla kang magtanong ng kakaiba? bakit sa umaga maraming mga taong ang gusto lang lagi isipin ay kung magtutoothbrush ba o magkakape muna sila?
urs trulily,
dianne

Thursday, March 1, 2007

choices

it's always a stunning moment to run into kafka every now and then. his elusive spirit manifests in brief moments, where you least expect it. like people you hardly know or get a chance to talk with. those hours i used to spend with my students at a lone gazebo near the fertility tree just musing about existentialism and the essence of making choices.

"so, is kafka and the rest of the existentialist saying that without choices one ceases to exist." that seems to be so. having choices at the basest level is the least common denominator among human beings in order to call themselves "people" or "person." be it choosing what to wear, what to eat, or if you have to comb your hair or not in the morning before you go to work.

the essentialist would think, "there's a reason why i am the person i am today." thinking that divine intervention or fate would lead him/her to a predetermined situation. the existentialist would think "i am the person i am today because of the choices i have made. so that if i have never had choices before or other people have been making them for me, then my existence does not belong to me. i am pretty much worthless to myself."

anyway, before my nose bleeds, i saw kafka again briefly in a former student's journal entry.

Of course, you could read more of Kafka online.

Sunday, February 18, 2007

virtual hair

when women feel miserable they get a makeover. for some yes, that's true. but for those constrained by work and other responsibilities and short finances, doing it in virtual reality might suffice. now i said MIGHT.

but let me not just talk about it. go here to get a new hairstyle. i'll post mine later, for your amusement.

Wednesday, February 14, 2007

starting anew


i cant say "im back" for i never really left. i just lurked for a while and kept my thoughts on actual paper--still the medium i am most comfortable with. but to those who have read illiterati and ped xing and stariray chronicles: welcum welcum.
id like to be thematic this time but i cant put too much structure in this. media could be anything. one person's trash might be another's road to salvation, to expression, to liberation. but what is media? perhaps, if communication is something intrinsic and crucial for the development of a human being, then media is the means for communication. now that, in itself, is a broad term, so i'll be vague about it.
i've taken up classes in media literacy and now im studying media theory. they're very different subjects, i tell ya. media literacy's fun and practical; as for media theory--well, theory is theory.

apparently, a word in my blog name is included in the top 100 words used in popular blog titles (which could either mean i'm in the mod or i'm not creative enuff).

there's another site related to this topic and to business. considering a lot of businesses nowadays explore/exploit the internet for wider market reach, so choosing the right blog-name can be crucial for business.